top of page

Len Thomson Men's Open Fours

The Club has held a Mens' Open Fours (full rinks) dating back to 1916 and was known as the "Annual Fours". In early days play was confined to two days - 29th and 30th of January. It seems that an entry fee was collected as well as "smoko" fee, which catered for the players meals and refreshments over the two days. In 1924, the largest expenditure for the event was £13/3/8 for whiskey, yet the tournament made a healthy profit of £14/3/7.

The "Jubilee" tournament held in 1936 has always created confusion as to the date of the foundation of the Club. However, in 1886 the N.Z.B.A. was formed and the first National Tournament was held in Dunedin that year. We now assume that this was the occasion for the Jubilee Tournament.

 The Whangarei Jubilee Rose Bowl was presented by Dr J.G. Campbell 1886-1936.

In 1934 a decision was made to extend the play to four days which proved very successful and in the 1960s to a six day tournament.

In the 80s and 90s the tournament went through many format changes, from the traditional (two games a day, 25 ends) to (three games, 18 ends). In 1996, open mixed play was introduced, but failed to attract entries. Lately it has been played over Northland’s (three day) Anniversary Weekend.

The tournament was always considered the "FOURS TOURNAMENT" of the North and attracted large fields. In 2003 the tournament was amalgamated with the Centre Open Fours, with the winner and runner-up qualifying to a national final.

In 2006 this tournament was changed to Triples due to the lack of entries and was abandoned until ???? when the family of the late Len Thomson presented a new trophy for mens' open fours. L.A. Thomson was a long-time Match Committee Chairman and was awarded Life Membership in 2000.

Winners of the Jubilee Rose Bowl prior to 1960 have not been recorded other than the "Club Name" engraved on the trophy.

1960  R. Pickering, R.C. Leese, J. O’Keefe, H.D. Ashcroft (Whangarei)

1961  J.R. Angelo, T.E. Gillibrand, R.H. Taylor, H.V. Reed (Whangarei)

1962  J. Clark, A. Webby, J. McDonald, J.C. Leese (Whangarei)

1963  H. Hughes, J. O’Keefe, T.E. Gillibrand, H.V. Reed (Whangarei)

1964  P. Hayden, S. Wilson, G. Brandso, J.B. Wilson (Whangarei)

1965  H. de Stigter, C.A. Herman, A.A. Chaston, G. Brandso (Whangarei)

1966  P. Hayden, C.A. Herman, G. Brandso, J.B. Wilson (Whangarei)

1967  P. Hayden, S. Wilson, S.D.F. Budge, J.B. Wilson (Whangarei)

1968  M. Kaire, C.A. Herman, G. Brandso, V. Crump (Whangarei)

1969  C.M. Jobe, J.R. Marsh, W. Howie, T.J. Marsh (Maungakaramea)

1970  L.C. Dudeck, W.B. Andrews, W. McMillan, H.A. Compton (Whangarei)

1971  C.M. Jobe, J.R. Marsh, W. Howie, T.J. Marsh (Whangarei)

1972  C.B. Hawkins, L.C. Dudeck, M. Kaire, J.B. Wilson (Whangarei)

1973  C.B. Hawkins, L.C. Dudeck, M. Kaire, J.B. Wilson (Whangarei)

1974  E.L.C. Moore, I.E. Le Noel, P.J.D. Hill, I. Nicol (Dargaville)

1975  E.L.C. Moore, I.E. Le Noel, A.B. Carter, P.J.D. Hill (Dargaville)

1976  C.M. Jobe, N.E. Hudson, T.J. Marsh, J.R. Marsh (Maungakaramea)

1977  M. Owen, N.R. Wright, J.R. Calder, T.G. Bateman (Kensington)

1978  T.M. Fleming, H.B. Cowen, M. Kaire, D.J. Holwell (Whangarei)

1979  M. Owen, N.R. Wright, J.R. Calders, T.G. Bateman (Kensington)

1980  A.F. Hamilton, G. Smith, M.G. Hamilton, I.R. McMurchy (Kensington)

1981  B.S. Bateman, N.R. Wright, J.R. Calder, T.G. Bateman (Kensington)

1982  E. Pickerill, G.F. Edgar, M. Kaire, D.J. Holwell (Whangarei)

1983  K.W. Munn, D.J. Ace, G.R. Ace, R.J. Ace (Kensington)

1984  K.W. Munn, D.J. Ace, G.R. Ace, R.J. Ace (Kensington)

1985  K.C.M. Griggs, R.S. Maxwell, R.W. Stewart, C.M. Arneil (Whangarei)

1986  W.B. Gold, H.W. Neal, M. Kaire, D.J. Holwell (Whangarei)

1987  W.B. Gold, H.W. Neal, M. Kaire, D.J. Holwell (Whangarei)

1988  P.J.D. Hill, C.P. Richards, L.M. Radonich, T.W. Todd (Dargaville)

1989  M.G. Houlahan, W.M.G. Yovich, L.M. Radonich, G.M. Russek (Composite)

1990  A.T.G. Lewin, B.R. McPherson, H.J. Cathcart, W.G. Atkins (Kensington)

1991  M.G. Houlahan, H.W. Neal, T.O. Chapman, D.J. Holwell (Whangarei)

1992  G. Hamilton, S. Robinson, A.T.G. Lewin, H.J. Cathcart (Kensington)

1993  N.G. Hudson, D.F. Cains, J.A. Jamieson, J.B. Wilson (Whangarei)

1994  P. Joosten, R.W. Stewart, C. Jagusch, R. Allison (Kensington)

1995  D.J. Nightingale, G.L. Whitham, M.T. Howie, G.R. Whitham (Whangarei)

1996  B.A. Bowers, A.W. Pakinga, A.P. Blundell, E.G. Sherriff (Kamo)

1997  W.R. Roberts, F.X. Dunn, P.R. Edge, W.G. Hughes (Whangarei)

1998  J. Cartwright, H. Smith, R. Willcocks, B. Blackwell (Kamo)

1999  R.G. Andrews, F.B. Reymond, D.F. Cains, D.W. Chapman (Whangarei)

2000  Not Played

2001  S. Prasad, T.G. Reader, D.J. Holwell, T.O. Chapman (Whangarei) *

2002  Not Played

2003  W.C. Taylor, T.G. Reader, D.J. Holwell, T.O. Chapman (Whangarei)

2004  B. Taylor, E.C. Horgan, J.P. van Haaften, C.J. van Haaften (Whangarei)

2005  S. Prasad, R. Whaikawa, G.D. Bond, J.L. Dunn (Onerahi)

2006  P. Reader, K.B. Smith, J.A. Jamieson (Whangarei)

* Centennial Tournament


Len Thomson Memorial Men's Open Fours

2012  A. Booth, P. Wightman, J.A. Jamieson, G. Wintle (Composite)

2013  T. Holsworth, M. Feeke, D.S. Mitchell, I. McMurchy (Composite)

2014  W. Wrack, L.M. Thorburn, M. Butler, I. Budd (Composite)

2015  W. Harris, I.L. Halls, G.R. Whitham, K.J. Fitness (Composite)

2016  D. Brewster, S. Mitchell, P. Mitchell, S. Nelson (Hikurangi)

2017 J. Wintle, W. Wyatt, D. Cameron, C. Wintle (Composite)

2018  Not Played

2019  Not Played

2020  Not Played COVID-19

2021  J. Hooson, G. Gallant, L.M. Thorburn (Kensington)

bottom of page